top of page

Embracing Individuality through the Art of Voice Acting

This year, I decided to bet on myself. Like any other artists, I'm pursuing my dreams with a competitive advantage of being unique and the best at my craft.


I always needed an extra push. It seems like most of the time when opportunity knocks, I'm the last one in the room who believes in my true potential. I have never seen myself great at what I do - be it hosting, voice over, singing, work or even the simplest things. For me, I'm just a so-so who consciously thrives to surprise other people. I'm not sure if you can call this an impostor syndrome but I still find it difficult to acknowledge compliments. I'm working on this... just give me a little more time.


Early this year, before all the horrors of pandemic, I found myself in the middle of great doubt and awakening. I realised this fast-paced world distracted me from taking a pause and looking back. I did not notice that I was slowly veering away from my aspirations because I was stuck in a corporate rut. Good thing I thought all I need was to replenish my energy towards dreaming. So, I took a little break and thought of how I can better myself. And along the process, I was surprised about all the things I did not count as achievements.


I was an achiever but I did not recognise my wins. Each year, I'm rewarded with big opportunities in my career or personal life but I never saw those as my advantages. People who are close to me would think I already succeeded in life but me being my harsh inner critic, I always thought I am not good enough nor will be the best. So, I always find a way to learn something new or hone my skills with my passion projects. But recently, I got lucky because I found a valuable workshop - Certified Voice Artist Program (CVAP).


I was only curious about live hosting but the pandemic kind of diverted my attention to new interests. Then, I chanced upon an online webinar of the Voice Master Pocholo De Leon Gonzales and renowned host Paolo Bediones and they were talking about online events and adapting to pandemic. It was a blessing in disguise because I was already planning of enrolling to their workshops. But to be honest, I was still not so sure because I thought my schedule won't permit. Few days later, I saw CVAP's poster in one of the events community groups on Facebook. I thought it's "now or never" so I immediately secured a slot and enrolled.


No regrets. I think my future self would thank me for the things that I do. I am glad that I am now embracing my individuality through the art of voice acting and doing things my way. My first week at the workshop already gave me lots of insights. It was crazy good and I can't wait to hone myself even more and positively influence other people.








0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What Makes a Good VO Artist?

More than learning the techniques, it is best that you also perfect and improve your skills by rehearsing and performing different voiceover works. These are things you need to rember: Branding. Estab

bottom of page